Pork Pot Stickers

My kids aren’t picky eaters, but they do tend to favor certain foods over others. For instance, Daken LOVES mac and cheese. Matthew on the other hand goes more by the looks of food as to whether or not it’s good! I love when I find an easy recipe that both Tony and I like that boys like as well.

Pork Pot Stickers fit the bill! Remember last week when I cooked that pork shoulder to make Hawaiian Pulled Pork Sandwiches then used some left-overs to make Hawaiian Pizza? Well, tonight I used the rest of the pork and the rest of the Hawaiian sauce to make Pork Pot Stickers. YUM-O!

All I had to do was add some garlic, a scallion (instead I used a very tiny red onion that was the only surviving onion in our garden), some cilantro, and a pinch of salt and pepper to the pork, which I chopped up. I then put about a tablespoon of that mixture on the wonton wrapper, and folded it up (she has a video to show you, but I didn’t watch it!). Tony then lightly fried them in a couple tablespoons of vegetable oil.  The recipe calls to make 12, but I had more meat than that, so I ended up making as many as it took to use up all the meat mixture.

We served the pot stickers with brown rice that I added a little pineapple juice and chunks of pineapple to. And of course, little bowls of the Hawaiian Sauce to dip the pot stickers in. I didn’t do any fancy presentation or anything, but it would have been easy to do with this meal if you want to impress someone!

My boys ATE THEM UP!! As did Tony and I. They were soooooooooooooo good! It would be a great appetizer or hors d’oeuvres–just set them on a platter with a bowl of the sauce. I know that I would be going back and back and back to that tray! Again, a 5 out of 5 on my scale. Easy, good, and a family pleaser!

So if you make the Hawaiian Pulled Pork, definitely keep some pork so you can make these later in the week!

One Response

  1. OK – so I made this awesome recipe tonight. They were really easy and fast (though I had to run to the store for the won ton wraps so that delayed us a bit). I also substituted red onion for the green onion – only because I forgot to get some and was determined to do this tonight.

    An added bonus was that my three-year old, Max LOVED helping me fold the pot stickers – though they were only beautiful through a mother’s eyes. To anyone else they resembled little wounded bags with meat sticking out of the punctures. They still tasted great though!

    Also, I made a simple asian white rice, but topped it with slaw made out of the Hawaiian sauce and red and white cabbage (something else the boys could easily help me stir). Then I put the freshly fried pot stickers around the slaw. I planned to steam some broccoli but ran out of time. It was a ton of food without the broccoli and it looked BEAUTIFUL! It was one of those times when I wish I had taken a picture of my food but only thought about it after it was 99% eaten.

    Ben is working tonight so I saved some unfried pot stickers and kept all of the components separate. We’ll see if they are as good when I fry them for him later.

    It was delightfully cold and hot, with crunchy slaw and pillows of soft, white rice. LOVED IT! Thanks April! : )

Leave a Reply

