Hawaiian Pulled Pork Sandwiches

If you know me at all, you know that pulled pork is my absolute favorite meal. Maybe in my former life I lived in the south–I absolutely LOVE barbecue pork. Hawaiian Pulled Pork, thank you Sandra’s Money Saving Meals, is a twist on the traditional barbecue pulled pork, but just as good!

I started with a large pork shoulder and rubbed it with dry teriyaki marinade (was in a hurry so I forgot to mix it with paprika and pepper, couldn’t tell though. It was still great). Along with a couple of chopped carrots and a diced onion, I added the meat to the crock pot.  What did I ever do without my alligator onion chopper? If you don’t have one, but hate chopping onions like I do; it is a must buy!

Then I made the sauce–pineapple juice, soy sauce, chili sauce, brown sugar, and chicken broth–and poured half of it over the meat. Eight hours in the crockpot later (don’t you LOVE the smell of food in the crockpot?!), the meat was ready to be pulled. I don’t like pulling the meat much, but it was so tender and easy to do. Not to mention, my wonderful hubby pulled half of it!

For the “barbecue sauce” (Sandra calls it Hawaiian Sauce), I added a little chopped garlic and ginger to too much canola oil. The recipe calls for 2 tbsp. of oil which I found was way too much. After the two g’s soften, I added the rest of the pineapple mixture from earlier. Once that boiled and simmered for awhile, it was ready to add to the pork.

We topped our King Hawaiian Sandwich Rolls with the pork and the sauce. The first sound I heard out of hubby’s mouth was, “mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, this is ggggoooooooooooodddddd!” And it was! So delicious!! You could really taste the pineapple and soy sauce, but the chili sauce gave it that barbecue flair. To quote Rachael Ray, “YUM-O!”

What I love about Sandra’s Money Saving Meals is that she always has Round 2 Recipes. She has two to follow this meal–a Hawaiian Pizza and a Pulled Pork Pot Sticker. Unfortunately though, I don’t have enough Hawaiian Sauce left for the pizza. I only have a little over 1/2 cup left but need 1 cup. My boys weren’t even home to eat dinner; it was just me and the hubby. So if any of you decide to make this recipe, definitely double the Hawaiian Sauce, at least if you like your sandwiches to be full of it like we do!

Eat up and enjoy! Hawaiian Pulled Pork Sandwiches: 5 out of 5! We’ll definitely be making this again, very easy and delicious!

6 Responses

  1. I REALLY can’t wait to try this now! You made my mouth water! Love it!

  2. By the way, I did not submit this comment at 5:52 am. Not sure what is wrong with the clock.

  3. Sounds DE-LICIOUS!! Think I will make it this weekend. Maybe some cole slaw and fresh sweet corn too!! Thanx April!! Excited about your next post!!

  4. Okay. I sure wish I hadn’t just started weight watchers! It sounds sooooo yummy!!! By the way, I LOVE my crockpot, too!!!!!!!

  5. This sounds SO yummy! And I LOVE crockpot meals!

  6. It’s not that bad for you! Just don’t put a lot of the sauce on it! YUM!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

